…and not with sexiness.  At least not mine, and let’s face it, probably not yours either.  In New Jersey the temperature will be rising to a ballbustingly 100 degrees today (Fahrenheit, not celcius, so at least that’s one thing to be grateful for).  On top of the oppressive heat outside, the AC in my house has decided it doesn’t FEEL like working.  Well guess what pansy…neither do I!  So with the heat being a presence in my life pretty much 24/7, I’ve been lazy and cranky.  And as such, haven’t felt like doing much except for staring.  Staring, my sweaty sweaty readers, has become a pretty intense hobby for me.

Since I spend most of the day at work, I spend most of my allotted staring time staring at my co-workers.  Work still gets done, but only between rounds of no holds barred staring.   Here’s the round up: I work with Desperate, Meek, Crazy, Double Crazy, Possible Serial Killer, Horrible Cake Baker, Awkward, Attention Seeker, Gossip.  Those are the main players anyway.

Sure, I could be a more positive observer, and I know that I probably should be.  My defense?…IT’S SO GODDAMN HOT!  I can barely even be positive about myself as I move from one sauna to the next.  My dad gave me very dad-like wisdom yesterday, saying that when he was growing up in Brooklyn they didn’t have AC so the apartment was always a sweatbox.  That’s fab, dad, but I was born in 1985…in New Jersey…to a middle class family…and it’s been 7 years since I lived in non-air conditioned freshmen dorms.  People (important people) say that weather really affects your personality and mood.  Amen, sisters.  When your feelings toward a particular, oh, shall we say, office, aren’t so great to begin with, chances are they will deteriorate as the temperature increases.  It’s not my fault that people are the way they are.  I just happen to be a world class observer who gets people.  People are really easy to read.  Especially ones who work in offices.

Check back on my cynicism in about 2 months.  Fall is my favorite season for so many reasons, the main one being that I definitely feel more relaxed than during any of those other uber PMSy seasons.  I promise I will be much more chipper with a scarf around my neck and a chai latte in my hand…

…Did I mention that I’m middle class?  No apologies from the peanut gallery.  At least not until it gets down to about 83…

