Yesterday, since I survived the hurricane and all, I went for a run.  I also needed to break in my new sneakers, which I love but for the next couple of runs will cause me nothing but frustration and sore knees (pretty much what happens when you try anything or anyone new).

I did my typical 3.2 mile run around the neighborhood, but this excursion was different all because I looked to the left.  When I run outside, as I’m guessing most people do, I usually look straight ahead of me.  If there’s any curvature of the neck it’s usually downward to make sure there aren’t any big dips or branches that could cause me to relive the Tumble of ’96 (quite traumatizing. far too painful to discuss on the interweb.).  Looking ahead is also a good way to distract me from the fact that I’ve been running for over 2 miles and I’m tired.  Rarely do I break tradition by looking side to side unless I have to cross the street.

On this particular run, however, as I ran down South Triangle Road, I looked a little bit to the left.  I have gone down this road countless times (tried to count, failed).  And yet, this one time because I looked a little bit to the left I noticed a field.  It wasn’t anything insanely expansive.  People from Iowa probably wouldn’t bat an eye.  But regardless of what those corn pushers might think, I was really taken aback by this field that I’d ignored for so long.  Usually my peripheral vision never passed the “For Sale” sign at the edge of the sidewalk.  Why the hell had I never wondered what exactly was for sale?  Continuing this new found curiosity and cranial motion I looked to the left a little more…hell, I even gave the right side a little attention!  Here’s what I saw that I swear to bejesus, I had never noticed:

1. Mary Mother of God Church finally has a roof after almost a year of construction.

2. My parents driving on Triangle Road, waving and flashing their lights at me.

3. The realtor sign that I thought had been taken down, sadly laying under a bunch of branches next to a metal fence.

4. A community of birds nests in a tree that I usually dodge because of it’s long branches.

So maybe I didn’t have an amazing, post natural disaster epihpany along the way.  Oh well.  Just the fact that I saw things that I don’t usually see  and that are worth seeing, except for the cooky parents, was enough for me.  I fully intend to go to some of my other running routes once the rivers have stopped flooding, and look a little to the left.

When you look a little to the left after staring straight for so long, what do you see?  Anything new?  Anything naked?

